cassket

My Creative Biology | October 13, 2012

  • What was the first creative moment you remember?

I remember my mother reading to me — a book called Gwinna.  It was about a girl with wings, and the idea fascinated me.  I started drawing people with wings, and thinking about it a lot.

  • Did anyone see it?

Not really, I pretty much kept it to myself.

  • What was your best idea?

My best idea was to participate in NaNoWriMo, National Novel Writing Month.  It’s a challenge issued to the world, to write 50,000 words of a new novel in the month of November.

  • What made it great?

It inspired me to think about writing in a way I had never before, and challenge myself to fully create and execute stories.  It also taught me a lot about my own storytelling process.

  • What was your dumbest idea?

Touching a car cigarette lighter to see if it actually worked.  It didn’t look hot.  It was hot.

  • What made it stupid?

It left a burn on my finger that lasted for days.  To be fair, I was around 12 when I did this.

  • What is your creative ambition?

To create a fictional universe with universal truths in it, so that people who play my games can understand a bit more about themselves and the world.

  • What are your creative obstacles?

I still don’t have many life experiences, so I’m not yet able to impart truths honestly.

  • What are the vital steps to achieving this ambition?

Better understanding emotion and human interaction.

  • How do you begin your day?

Slowly.  The best possible days begin with me lounging around in bed for at least a half hour, until my brain has woken up and given me engaging things to do.

  • What are your habits?

Picking at my nails, cracking my joints, checking the time, stretching.

  • Do you have patterns?

I like schedules, and knowing what I am doing in advance.  So if I get a routine that works I will stick to it.

  • Which artist do you most admire, and why?

Vincent can Gogh, for his amazing use of color and prolific amounts of work, despite personal setbacks.

  • What do you and this artist have in common?

I, too, enjoy sunflowers and wearing hats.  Other than that, there isn’t much, but I try to draw inspiration from the way he uses color to set the feeling of the environment.

  • Who in your life regularly inspire you? How?

It may be a cliche, but my mother.  She’s helped me through some of the worst times of my life by being amazing and strong, and I know she’s supporting me 100% though my path is unorthodox.

  • When confronted with superior intelligence/talent, how do you respond?

I get intimidated, but I also look for elements I like, and think about how I could try them out.

  • When confronted with stupidity/laziness, how do you respond?

I get frustrated, and try to work around it.  This sometimes means taking on more of a burden than I should, just for the sake of making sure it is done correctly.

  • When you work do you love the process or the result?

I get settled in to the process, finding a groove that I can just coast in for hours.  I’m never quite satisfied with the product, and sometimes have to self-impose deadlines to ensure that I turn out something in the end.

  • What is your ideal creative activity?

Developing the things that create the feel of a game — way back at the start of the pre-production pipeline.  Deciding what questions I want the game to ask the player, what impression I want the game to leave them with.

Though if possible, I want my fingers in every aspect — helping a little with story and some more with art, brainstorming mechanics.

  • What is your greatest fear.

That I’ll never finish a product good enough for other people.

  • What is the likelihood of the answers to the two previous questions happening?

I’m getting better at finishing things, but there are a lot of people who want to make games who just aren’t good enough.  I’m scared but I’m still going to try.

  • Which of your answers would you most like to change?

I hope my greatest fear changes to “I’m worried my next project won’t live up to my last”.

  • What is your idea of mastery?

People telling me that my product really means something to them, and has helped to shape or define their world.

  • What is your greatest dream?

To get a comfortable job working with people that I like, and living with people that I love.

  • What else defines your “Creative Biology?”

My desire to challenge and my desire to make games their own kind of art.

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

